Occupational Health & Safety



      View Printable Page

Amendments to the Criminal Code have expanded the scope of corporate and individual criminal liability for workplace accidents. The new Alberta Occupational Health & Safety Code further complicates the situation.

Companies and executives in high-risk industries - construction, manufacturing, petroleum, mining, forestry, or any business at risk of workplace accidents - must protect themselves against accidents and their costly and time-consuming repercussions.

McLennan Ross offers a complete range of services to help organizations of all types and sizes avoid difficulties in the changing OHS regulatory situation:

  • Due Diligence Program: McLennan Ross assists clients in designing a safety and risk management program to minimize the risk of serious workplace accidents and prosecution.
  • OHS Compliance Service: Whatever the problem, when it comes to compliance issues under OHS legislation, we can help.
  • Defence Services: We defend clients charged with regulatory offences including Occupational Health and Safety and environmental offences.
  • Customized In-house OHS Seminars: Get the information you need without discussing your problems and questions in public, avoid wasting time and money on irrelevant information, and get fast answers to your questions - on your terms, in your facilities - with a seminar that's custom-made to suit your situation.
EDMONTON
David Myrol  
780.482.9290 or 403.303.9117   dmyrol@mross.com
 

EDMONTON

Dan Bokenfohr   780.482.9118   dbokenfohr@mross.com
 
Stuart Chambers   780.482.9113   schambers@mross.com
 
Kathleen Garbutt   780.482.9131   kgarbutt@mross.com
 
Will Johnston   780.482.9155   wjohnston@mross.com
 
David Myrol   780.482.9290 or 403.303.9117   dmyrol@mross.com
 
Gerhard Seifner   780.482.9230   gseifner@mross.com
 
Peter Taschuk, Q.C.   780.482.9203   ptaschuk@mross.com
 
Gary Zimmermann   780.482.9208   gzimmermann@mross.com
 

CALGARY

Iain Bailey   403.303.1683   ibailey@mross.com
 
Robb Beeman   403.303.1690   rbeeman@mross.com
 
  • Assisted employers in conducting internal OHS investigations
  • Defended owners, prime contractors, employers and employees charged with OHS offences in Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories
  • Commenced a constitutional challenge against a government policy that attempted to ban all lawyers, including the lawyer representing the actual witness being interviewed, from being present during a compelled statement with an OHS officer investigating a serious workplace accident
  • Drafted prime contractor agreements for large oil sands expansion and urban development projects
  • Represented employers on a section 37 OHSA Disciplinary Action Complaint before the OHS Council
  • Represented employers with employees refusing to perform dangerous work
  • Commenced an inquiry with the Privacy Commissioner to obtain a copy of a witnesses’ own statement given to OHS officers investigating a serious workplace accident
  • Provided in-house OHS legal training to large and small corporations from across Alberta and British Columbia
  • Assisted large corporations with aligning health and safety procedures for legislative compliance in multiple jurisdictions
  • Prepared and revised OHS policies for employers
There are no results at this time for this category. Click here to search publications or click here to search for events
Real Time Web Analytics