View Printable Page

McLennan Ross is a leader in western and northern Canada in labour and employment law, with a reputation built on many decades of experience for cost-effective, timely and efficient service.

We believe in operating as partners with our clients. Whatever the venue, whatever the concern, our job is to help you achieve your business objectives by effectively dealing with one of your most important assets - your people. We view our responsibility as seriously as you view the work of your organization.

 

 Our services in labour and employment law include:

  • Strategic planning and corporate structuring
  • Collective bargaining
  • Collective agreement arbitration
  • Interest arbitration
  • Mediation
  • Labour relations board litigation
  • Privacy
  • Judicial review of administrative decisions
  • Human rights
  • Occupational health and safety
  • Harassment and other workplace investigations
  • Pensions
  • Workers’ compensation disputes
  • Employee training
  • Employment law litigation such as wrongful dismissal and constructive dismissal action
  • Immigration, including LMOs and temporary foreign worker permits

Among the many benefits our clients have noted from working with McLennan Ross are:

  • Credibility from being represented by a firm with positive relationships and a good reputation with labour and employment tribunals
  • Creative advice on how to operate in Alberta and the North based on our insights into the people, industries and issues involved in labour and employment law in the region
  • Aggressive advocacy where needed
  • Cost-effective service from a team that includes the most senior and respected labour and employment lawyers in our communities, as well as specialized and economical junior lawyers and specialized employment paralegal staff
  • Specialist advice and assistance on visa, immigration and border issues and challenges
  • Insight into the unions and personalities in the industries we represent and the ability to achieve client objectives because of our relationships
  • Ability to receive quick and practical advice immediately as labour and employment issues arise, rather than having to wait for questions to be researched


Canadian Association of Counsel to Employers
The McLennan Ross labour and employment team was instrumental in founding the Canadian Association of Counsel to Employers (CACE). CACE is an association of management-side labour and employment lawyers across Canada. CACE promotes excellence in the specialized field of labour and employment law, and engages in legislation and law reform activities at the provincial and federal level. Created in 2004, CACE now has over 800 members, including most of the leading labour and employment counsel in the country.

Find out more about CACE at: www.counseltoemployers.ca.

EDMONTON
Dan Bokenfohr  
780.482.9118   dbokenfohr@mross.com
 
CALGARY
Tom Ross  
403.303.9124   tross@mross.com
 
YELLOWKNIFE
Glenn Tait  
867.766.7676   gtait@mross.com
 

EDMONTON

Dan Bokenfohr   780.482.9118   dbokenfohr@mross.com
 
Doug Boyer   780.482.9282   dboyer@mross.com
 
Jennifer Davis   780.482.9138   jdavis@mross.com
 
Manav Deol   780.482.9151   mdeol@mross.com
 
Steven Dollansky   780.482.9135   sdollansky@mross.com
 
Maurice Dransfeld   780.482.9223   mdransfeld@mross.com
 
Anthony Espejo   780.482.9124   aespejo@mross.com
 
Vicki Giles   780.482.9123   vgiles@mross.com
 
Pat Haughian   780.482.9144   phaughian@mross.com
 
Teresa Haykowsky   780.482.9247   thaykowsky@mross.com
 
Will Johnston   780.482.9155   wjohnston@mross.com
 
Chris Lane   780.482.9238   clane@mross.com
 
James Lingwood   780.482.9237   jlingwood@mross.com
 
Hugh McPhail, Q.C.   780.482.9212   hmcphail@mross.com
 
David Risling   780.482.9114   drisling@mross.com
 
David Ross, Q.C.   780.482.9202    dross@mross.com
 
Gerhard Seifner   780.482.9230   gseifner@mross.com
 

CALGARY

Michael Aasen   403.303.1686   maasen@mross.com
 
Alison Adam   403.444.4080   aadam@mross.com
 
Damon Bailey   403.303.9105   dbailey@mross.com
 
Iain Bailey   403.303.1683   ibailey@mross.com
 
Marco Baldasaro   403.303.9101   mbaldasaro@mross.com
 
Robb Beeman   403.303.1690   rbeeman@mross.com
 
Erin Crosley   403.444.4074   ecrosley@mross.com
 
Jamie Flanagan   403.303.9102   jflanagan@mross.com
 
Colin Flynn   403.303.1691   cflynn@mross.com
 
Blake Hafso   403.303.0159   bhafso@mross.com
 
Alexander MacDonald   403.303.1791   amacdonald@mross.com
 
Joyce Mitchell   403.543.9152   jmitchell@mross.com
 
Tom Ross   403.303.9124   tross@mross.com
 
Jody Sutherland   403.303.9118   jsutherland@mross.com
 
Gareth Williams   403.303.1711   gwilliams@mross.com
 

YELLOWKNIFE

Marie-Pier Leduc   867.766.7679   mleduc@mross.com
 
Glenn Tait   867.766.7676   gtait@mross.com
 
Michelle Thériault   867.766.7684   mtheriault@mross.com
 
  • Represented the provincial Government of Alberta in all labour relations board and Court proceedings relating to a five-day illegal strike by correctional officers
  • Represented a client at the Supreme Court of Canada in an important case concerning construction industry hiring halls, which made new law concerning judicial review of labour arbitration decisions
  • Intervened on behalf of the Province of Alberta at the Supreme Court of Canada in a labour relations case concerning the exclusive jurisdiction of arbitrators
  • Provided advice to all three levels of government with respect to revisions to labour legislation
  • Provided advice to all three levels of government with respect to unlawful public sector strikes
  • Negotiated collective agreements for municipal, provincial, and territorial governments
  • Assisted numerous clients to successfully avoid a certification application through a comprehensive communications strategy
  • Successfully represented several clients in several claims for damages for illegal strikes including one which led to a million dollar settlement
  • Intervened on behalf of the Canadian Association of Counsel to Employers in the Supreme Court of Canada in an important case concerning the right of an employee to refuse to disclose her home address and phone number to her trade union
  • Provided comprehensive union avoidance training to supervisory personnel of numerous major employers
  • Litigated and subsequently resolved several contentious fiduciary duty disputes
  • Provided advice on the creation of a new industry-wide drug and alcohol policy for the construction industry and provided ongoing advice to numerous employers on the day-to-day operation of their drug/alcohol testing programs
  • Assisted several major retailers in respect of strike and picketing issues including litigation
  • Defended numerous human rights complaints involving disability discrimination and drug testing
  • Successfully defended a human rights complaint which raised "poisoned work environment" allegations
  • Conducted extensive workplace investigation into allegations of sexual harassment in a northern workplace
  • Negotiated collective agreements for provincial and territorial governments as well as clients in various industries
  • Represented employers in hundreds of grievance arbitrations in Alberta, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and acted as employer nominee in hundreds of arbitrations
  • Advised several owners and contractors in respect to labour relations strategies related to oil sands projects
  • Conducted dozens of judicial review applications arising out of Labour Relations Board hearings
  • Defended numerous wrongful dismissal lawsuits including those involving difficult sexual harassment issues
  • Conducted harassment investigations and presented harassment seminars for a variety of employers
  • Successfully litigated a federal/provincial constitutional issue for a major national company
  • Represented employers numerous times before the appeals commission under the workers’ compensation legislation in Alberta and the Northwest Territories
  • Presented supervisory training courses for utility, municipal, and other public sector employers
 Register to receive emails of events and/or publications

Jun 29, 2017
Court of Appeal Decision Highlights Important Lessons on Settlement Agreements

Jun 23, 2017
Supreme Court of Canada Approves “No Free Accident” Drug and Alcohol Policy

Jun 08, 2017
Legislature Passes New Labour and Employment Legislation

Jun 01, 2017
SCC Rejects Appeal: Confirms Delayed Vesting Effective in Long Term Incentive Plans

May 31, 2017
Update on Changes to Alberta’s Employment Standards and Labour Relations Legislation

May 25, 2017
Why Alberta Unions are Celebrating the Fair and Family-Friendly Workplaces Act

May 24, 2017
Changes to Employment Standards and Labour Relations Legislation

May 17, 2017
CIRB Reaffirms Principles on Essential Services and Employees

Apr 24, 2017
Fixed-Term Contracts: An Employer’s Guide to Avoiding Hidden Traps

Apr 18, 2017
Due Care Required in Manner of Termination

Mar 14, 2017
Government Announces Labour and Employment Law Review

Feb 03, 2017
Another Successful Effort to Confine Employees to Statutory Minimum Termination Notice/Pay

Jan 25, 2017
Why Bother With All These Forms For My Employees?

Jan 25, 2017
Posting Offensive Blog Posts as a Union President: Protected by the Charter?

Jan 20, 2017
Changes Are A-Comin’

Jan 11, 2017
Employment Contracts Can Limit Employees to a Fixed Sum on Termination

Jan 04, 2017
Alberta Court of Appeal Upholds Long Term Incentive Plan Delayed Vesting

Dec 21, 2016
Protecting Against Misuse of Information

Oct 19, 2016
Employees Can Be Limited To Employment Standards Code Minimums

Oct 14, 2016
Be Careful of Fixed Term Employment Agreements

Aug 22, 2016
Bonus Payments – Do they Form Part of a Severance Package?

Jul 28, 2016
Federal Court of Appeal Enforces Four-Point Test for Family Status

Jul 27, 2016
The Hiring Process is Not Finished Until the Paperwork is Done

Jul 18, 2016
Major Blow to Federal Employers’ Right to Terminate Employees

Jun 29, 2016
Flexible Work Arrangement Obligations Coming for Federal Employers

May 24, 2016
Suncor Random Drug Testing Decision Overturned

Apr 28, 2016
Back to Basics: An Employee’s Duty to Mitigate in a Wrongful Dismissal

Apr 22, 2016
Shutting Down Operations In The NWT Or Nunavut?

Apr 11, 2016
Innocent Absenteeism: A Reasonable End to Accommodation

Apr 07, 2016
How to Balance Family Status Accommodation Requests

Mar 18, 2016
Legal Strikes Coming to the Alberta Public Sector

Mar 07, 2016
Severance Strategies in a Slumping Economy

Jan 11, 2016
Workplace Harassment and Workplace Violence Policies in the N.W.T.

Dec 30, 2015
Compassionate Care Leave Changes - What Do They Mean For Employers?

Dec 08, 2015
Assert a Weak Case for 'Just Cause for Termination' at Your Peril!

Dec 03, 2015
Farm and Ranch Workers About to Lose Their Statutory Exemptions

Nov 04, 2015
Substance Use and the Workplace: More Considerations for Employer Accommodation Strategies

Oct 13, 2015
If You've Been Laid Off, What Should You Do?

Oct 06, 2015
Are Your Employees Entitled to Time Off to Vote?

Sep 16, 2015
New Minimum Wage for Alberta Employees on October 1, 2015

Sep 09, 2015
What is Needed for You to Have a "Disability" that is Protected by Human Rights Legislation?

Sep 04, 2015
Considering a BYOD Program?

Aug 26, 2015
Reduce Premiums Through Cost Relief

Aug 04, 2015
Taking to the Skies: The Supreme Court's Decision in Bombardier

Jul 23, 2015
Navigating the Sea of Constructive Dismissal

Jul 07, 2015
Firing for Not Reporting Drug Use is Not a Human Rights Violation

Jul 02, 2015
Union Financial Disclosure Law Passes Senate

Jun 16, 2015
Eye on the Future

May 06, 2015
What Does the Alberta Election Mean for Employers?

May 01, 2015
WCB Taking New View on Modified Work

Apr 30, 2015
Why are my Supervisors in the Union?

Apr 09, 2015
Don't Jump the Gun!

Mar 09, 2015
Supreme Court Rules on Employee Suspensions and Constructive Dismissal

Feb 02, 2015
Supreme Court Constitutionalizes Right to Strike

Jan 27, 2015
Go Directly To Jail. Do Not Pass Go. Pay $250,000.

Jan 16, 2015
Collective Bargaining Rights of RCMP Officers

Jan 16, 2015
NWT Raises Minimum Wage to Highest in Canada

Dec 01, 2014
Court Backs Hard Line on Sexual Harassment

Nov 25, 2014
Scandals Ignite Conversation on Sexual Harassment in Canada

Nov 19, 2014
Bill 3 - Proposed Amendments to PIPA

Nov 06, 2014
Sexual Assault in the Workplace - Radio Interview

Oct 07, 2014
Employer on the Hook for Longer Notice Period Despite Period of Absence and "New" Employment

Jul 23, 2014
NWT Human Rights Commission's Early Resolution Process - Beware!

Mar 28, 2014
Alberta Arbitration Board Rejects Random Drug & Alcohol Testing Policy

Jan 31, 2014
Compassionate Care Leave Now Applies to Alberta

Dec 16, 2013
Receipt of Pension Benefits does not Reduce Damages for Wrongful Dismissal

Oct 28, 2013
Privacy Commissioner Underlines Importance of Workplace Technology Policies

Sep 17, 2013
Restrictive Covenants in a Sale of Business Given Broad Scope

Aug 27, 2013
Pre-Access Testing Rejected in Ontario

Jul 15, 2013
Watch Those Collective Agreement Time Limits!

Jun 28, 2013
New Federal Labour and Human Rights Legislation

Jun 14, 2013
SCC Signals Caution Over Random Testing

Jun 06, 2013
Stress Claims Under Stress

May 23, 2013
B.C. Arbitrator Provides Perspective on Random Drug and Alcohol Testing Policies

Apr 25, 2013
University of Saskatchewan Announces New Labour-Management Relations Certificate Course

Feb 21, 2013
Whistleblower Legislation Places New Obligations on Public Sector Employers

Nov 29, 2012
Suncor's Implementation of Random Testing on Hold

Oct 10, 2012
Labour & Employment Introduction Video
An introductory video to the Labour & Employment practice at McLennan Ross LLP
Jul 20, 2012
D.A.R.R.P.P. Begins

Jun 06, 2012
Did You Commit to More in Your Collective Agreement Than Your Insurance Covers?

May 18, 2012
How Much Federal Work Do You Have To Do To Come Under Federal Labour Jurisdiction?

May 17, 2012
Can an Employer be Forced to Give up Copies of Internal Investigation Reports?

May 09, 2012
Direct Service Providers: A Caution

May 03, 2012
Smile for the Camera!

Apr 23, 2012
“Reasonable Notice” Required Both Ways

Apr 18, 2012
Time Off to Vote

Apr 17, 2012
New Skilled Trades Immigration Stream to be Created

Mar 23, 2012
SCC to Hear Random Alcohol Testing Case

Mar 14, 2012
Insuring Against Disability and Loss of Life After Terminations Without Just Cause

Jan 20, 2012
Court Recognizes Breach of Privacy Tort

Jan 05, 2012
S.C.C. Frees Labour Arbitrators From Strict Legal Rules

Dec 01, 2011
Putting the 'Strict' into Restrictive Covenants

Nov 28, 2011
Justifying Covert Surveillance

Nov 25, 2011
Insurance Company Disability Rulings are not Binding

Oct 18, 2011
Can You Discontinue a Practice That is More Generous Than the Collective Agreement Requires?

Sep 28, 2011
NWT Elections: Time Off to Vote

Aug 29, 2011
Minimum Wage Increases in Alberta

Aug 17, 2011
Court of Appeal Neuters Restrictive Covenants

Aug 09, 2011
A Caution About Exposure to "Reasonable Notice of Termination"

Jul 26, 2011
Should Performance Reviews Be Abolished?

Jul 22, 2011
More Support for Random Testing

Jul 20, 2011
Damages for Loss of Disability Insurance Coverage: A Caution

Jul 11, 2011
Courts Showing Greater Willingness to Strike Down Restrictive Covenants

Jun 30, 2011
An Increase in Class Action Lawsuits Against Employers

Jun 10, 2011
Andy Sims to Receive Bora Laskin Award

Jun 07, 2011
Absenteeism Statistics Stimulate Debate

Jun 03, 2011
Construction Looking Forward 2011-2019

May 05, 2011
Forbidden Images on a Teacher's Laptop - A Lesson Well Learned

May 02, 2011
Supreme Court Narrows the Constitutional Protection of Collective Bargaining

Apr 29, 2011
Employer Generosity Remains Unbinding

Apr 04, 2011
Just How Much Disclosure Can a Union Demand?

Feb 08, 2011
No Just Cause for Discharge. No Reinstatement. What Damages will Arbitrators Award?

Feb 02, 2011
Postal Workers Must Pay for Unlawful Strike

Jan 19, 2011
Who is an Employer Under the Alberta Human Rights Act?

Jan 18, 2011
Court Upholds Random Alcohol Testing Policy

Jan 11, 2011
Summary Trial Before End of Notice Period

Jan 05, 2011
Facebook Postings can Support Just Cause Termination

Sep 30, 2010
Alberta Women Win Case Against CN

Sep 27, 2010
Changes to Drug Testing Thresholds

Sep 15, 2010
The Case of the $2.2-million Severance

Jul 20, 2010
Court of Appeal Gives Some Guidance on the Right to a Union Steward in Disciplinary Interviews

Jul 15, 2010
Employers can't be sued for Negligent Infliction of Mental Distress - At Least for Now

Jul 12, 2010
Supreme Court Decision in Giant Mine

May 28, 2010
New Saskatchewan Construction Laws Proclaimed

May 20, 2010
Saskatchewan Passes Changes to Construction Labour Laws

May 13, 2010
Court of Appeal Criticizes Vague Grievances

May 03, 2010
PIPA Amendments Take Effect

Mar 08, 2010
Employer Ignores Harassment Complaint at its Peril

Feb 26, 2010
Personal Information Protection Act Amendments

Feb 18, 2010
Supreme Court of Canada Giant Mine Decision

Feb 04, 2010
NWT Minimum Wage Increase

Feb 03, 2010
Inappropriate Computer Usage in the Workplace

Feb 01, 2010
Labour Law Central to Constitutional Fight

Jan 06, 2010
Operation Terminate

Jan 05, 2010
Supreme Court Upholds Provincial Powers over Labour Relations

Real Time Web Analytics