View Printable Page

The Health Group at McLennan Ross represents the formalization of a long-standing industry group within the firm. Headed by Jon Rossall, Q.C., the group includes litigators, corporate commercial lawyers and labour & employment lawyers who share a common interest and experience in the health law field.

We advise a diverse group of clients, including:

  • Physicians
  • Physician practice groups and academic medicine departments
  • The Alberta Medical Association
  • The Psychiatric Nursing Association
  • The Professional Association of Residents of Alberta
  • The Canadian Medical Protective Association

McLennan Ross can represent you in inquests, disciplinary proceedings, in the courts and negotiations and in commercial endeavors involving alternative payment programs and the establishment of a variety of membership structures.

Our lawyers also provide extensive advice to medical organizations and government on health-related policy and legislative initiatives.

We have presented to physicians and physician associations on a variety of health law issues, and written extensively in the area of health law throughout Alberta, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

EDMONTON
Jon Rossall, Q.C.  
780.482.9216   jrossall@mross.com
 

EDMONTON

Tara Argent   780.482.9313   targent@mross.com
 
Doug Boyer   780.482.9282   dboyer@mross.com
 
Stuart Chambers   780.482.9113   schambers@mross.com
 
Jennifer Davis   780.482.9138   jdavis@mross.com
 
Anthony Espejo   780.482.9124   aespejo@mross.com
 
Ken Fitz   780.482.9231   kfitz@mross.com
 
Will Johnston   780.482.9155   wjohnston@mross.com
 
Chris Lane   780.482.9238   clane@mross.com
 
MaryAnne Loney   780.482.9112   mloney@mross.com
 
Denise Prokopiuk   780.482.9205   dprokopiuk@mross.com
 
Adrian Sherman   780.482.9236   asherman@mross.com
 
Yolanda Van Wachem   780.482.9225   yvanwachem@mross.com
 

CALGARY

Cynthia Aoki   403.303.1676   caoki@mross.com
 
Jennifer Biernaskie   403.303.0157   jbiernaskie@mross.com
 
  • Representing a physician in Fort Smith charged with inappropriate conduct in conjunction with a medical examination
  • Representing a provincial medical association in making submissions on behalf of Alberta physicians to a Privacy Commissioner's Investigation regarding the sale of health provider information to an international pharmaceutical association
  • Defending a physician being sued by the estate of a former patient for damages arising from an alleged failure to detect and properly treat an infection
  • Representing several physicians called to give evidence at a coroner's inquest arising from the death of a patient while in RCMP custody
  • Assisting various physicians and physician groups in establishing practices or in joining existing medical practices
  • Working with the AMA, Alberta Health Services and Alberta Health & Wellness to create a Provincial shared Electronic Health Record
  • Defending physicians sued as a result of an alleged failure to properly monitor day passes granted to a psychiatric patient
  • Successfully assisting a physician in responding to a Medical Board of Inquiry complaint alleging medical misconduct in failing to detect cancerous growths in the context of annual physical examinations
  • Working with various consultants to establish Primary Care Networks throughout Alberta designed to provide multi-disciplinary family practice models
  • Assisting a provincial medical association in negotiations with the Workers' Compensation Board in arriving at a long term agreement with physicians on the treatment of workers and the form of reporting
  • Working with the Alberta Medical Association on various projects involving electronic medical records and the various and complex issues surrounding that evolution
  • Assisting a provincial medical association in responding to a complaint to the Privacy Commissioner for the Province of Alberta regarding an alleged failure to properly respond to a request for health information
  • Working with the AMA and Alberta Health Services to create a set of Provincial Medical Staff Bylaws and Rules
  • Representing a Northwest Territories physician in appealing a health board's refusal to grant hospital privileges
  • Regularly advise physicians' organizations on contract interpretation, drafting and policy issues
  • Regularly advise government and administrative tribunals on health-related policy and adjudicative matters involving patient issues and professional disciplinary matters
Real Time Web Analytics