View Printable Page

Your questions and concerns about Education Law require the expertise and experience of a breadth of lawyers. Our Education Law Group has been practising in this area of law for many years. Led by Teresa Haykowsky, our group includes lawyers with education-related experience in labour and employment, human rights, litigation, and corporate commercial issues.

Our team frequently writes and presents extensively across the province, and the country, about legal matters affecting Canadian school jurisdictions. If you require bilingual services, we can also assist with representation in both English and French.

Our team doesn’t just know Education Law, we co-founded the Education Law section for the Alberta Northern section of the Canadian Bar Association.

EDMONTON
Teresa Haykowsky  
780.482.9247   thaykowsky@mross.com
 

EDMONTON

Manav Deol   780.482.9151   mdeol@mross.com
 
Teresa Haykowsky   780.482.9247   thaykowsky@mross.com
 
James Lingwood   780.482.9237   jlingwood@mross.com
 
David Risling   780.482.9114   drisling@mross.com
 
David Ross, Q.C.   780.482.9202    dross@mross.com
 

CALGARY

Damon Bailey   403.303.9105   dbailey@mross.com
 
Tom Ross   403.303.9124   tross@mross.com
 

Our team has experience advising a diverse group of clients on many education law-related matters. We have the bench strength and ability to advise a variety of groups such as:

  • Alberta School Business Officials of Alberta
  • Charter and independent schools
  • College of Alberta School Superintendents
  • General Counsel for school jurisdictions
  • Private and Independent Schools in Alberta
  • Province of Alberta (Education and Infrastructure)
  • Regional authorities, including francophone regional authorities
  • School board Chairs
  • School boards within Alberta
  • Superintendents of Schools and Secretary Treasurers on behalf of school boards

We also provide legal services for:

  • Appeals to the Alberta Court of Appeal
  • Board Governance, including audits
  • Board of Reference hearings
  • Charter issues related to school boards, teachers, students, and parents
  • Collective bargaining
  • Constitutional law, including the 1901 School Ordinance and the 1905 Alberta Act
  • Fatality inquiries
  • Grievance Arbitrations
  • Judicial Reviews
  • OHS matters
  • School board hearings including teacher terminations, teacher transfers, teacher suspensions, parent hearings, and school closures
  • Student hearings and appeals
  • Student issues
  • Teacher disciplinary hearings  

 

Real Time Web Analytics